How to make a game

I am planning to make some good material related to how to make a game. I thought that before releasing that I could probably share with everyone some of my experiences about how to make a game.

Some of you may thing whether this post will tell you “Invent Your Own Computer Games with Python

Microsoft’s Tutorial for making a maze game

I used this tutorial to make the maze. Here’s a picture.

Compared to the maze given in the tutorial I made it much bigger. You can use the tutorial to understand how to make and perhaps add some other things. Like shaking the walls once in a while? Try it and tell me about your experiments.

I used Visual Studio (express edition) as the software needed to make the game. Visual Studio is free to download and easy to learn.

Another way I found was easier for a beginner to start making games is to use python. Python is a easy programming language.

English: Python logo Deutsch: Python Logo

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Some of the people who have no experience in programming may be thinking this

“Programming? That is tough. I won’t be able to make the game”

If you are one of the people thinking this then I say there is nothing to worry about. Python is easy. Very easy to learn. You can try this book out.

Invent Your Own Computer Games with Python

The book is free to download and it teaches python by teaching how to make games.
Finally I want to tell you about something that I am going to make games. I am learning Unity3D to make games. Unity3D is a game engine. It can be used to make 3D games. Just wait and see. I will add content about unity3D soon.

For those who don’t want to wait here are some useful links.

Unity Forum to discuss about the game engine and a list of tutorials to help you to learn unity game engine.

About ansh bansal

https://about.me/anshbansal
This entry was posted in Games, Unity3D, Visual Basic 2010 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to make a game

  1. This is Great I’m taking the Edx class on c++ soon. 3D games are made with c++. I am currently reading the Pygame book from “inventing with python” is its predecessor.
    … I heard C and C++ is totally different though so I don’t know how to do C.
    Btw will your games be cross platform I have linux Ubuntu OS right now.

    • ansh bansal says:

      You also have the option of using Unity 3D for making games. The games that I made in VB were 2D and very basic. I tried Unity 3D and if you spend time you can make games using it. Many professional games are made with Unity 3D. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

